09’40 | MP3 | 256kbps const | 44.1kHz | J-stereo | 17.7MB

If you’ve already downloaded and listened to Simfonia, the the first movement of Golgotha’s Symphony in Extremis, you’ll have figured that it’s symphonic rock with political lyrics. This is the second movement, properly titled Holocaust in A minor - The burning. In fact, each movement seems to divide conveniently into two.

I’ll leave you to suss what the lyrics are going on about. Tech-wise, I was using an Atari ST running Creator to trigger a bunch of synths, including a ruddy great Kurzweil that had some amazing sounds on board, and an Akai sampler which handled most of the orchestral parts. The computer was kept in sync with a 24-track tape deck, apparently one of two used by Queen at Trident Studios, via SMPTE (remember that?). Guitarists might like to know that most of the guitar was played on a Hamer Chaparral Custom, with some licks courtesy of a Jackson something-or-other (thanks again, Cliff). A Roland multi-effects unit and Peavey stack were on wall-rattling duty.

One thing: don’t get caught out like I did and use the term ‘our souls’ in a lyric. Think about it.

Right-click to download...



• Digital Camera Magazine
• Digital Photographer
• Advanced Photoshop
• MacFormat
• Web Designer
• Future Music

• Digital Music Maker
• Digital Photographer
• Digital Camera Buyer
• Digital Photography Made Easy
• Digital Video Made Easy
• What's Online
• Internet Access
• Futurenet.co.uk
• Total Guitar
• Future Music
• Amiga Format se

• Photography - digital technology & technique
• Photo manipulation/
digital imaging
• Digital audio, music composition & production
• Guitar & related technology
• Home, office & mobile computer technology
• Internet culture & technologies


  home | journalism | photography | music © Karl Foster